How National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNM) Was Formed:

The National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNM) is a professional-cum trade union organization recognized by the Trade Unions (Amendment) Act of 2005.  It is a non-governmental and non-profit organization authorized to organize all professional nurses and midwives who are trained, registered and licensed to practice Nursing Profession at all the levels of healthcare delivery system, namely primary, secondary and tertiary both in public and private sectors in the country.

The first organization of nurses in Nigeria is known as the Nigeria Union of Nurses (NUN), which was formed in 1938 and registered in 1943.  The union was said to be led by one Mr. Kuti (a nurse) as honorary Secretary General (SG). In 1944, the late Nathaniel Cole was appointed the first General Secretary of union.  Mr. Cole was later joined by Mr. S. S. O. Ekezie, Mr. Ayoola Adeleke and Mr. Clement Njoku.

In 1957, an organization known as the Professional Association of Trained Nurses of Nigeria (PATNON) was formed at the University College Hospital (UCH) in Ibadan by a small group of nurses who were trained in the United Kingdom.  Later in the year, PATNON changed its name to Nigeria Nurses Association (NNA).

The existence of Nigeria Union of Nurses and the Professional Association of Trained Nurses of Nigeria polarized the unionization of nurses as each group claimed to be the authentic umbrella body of nurses in the country.

Apart from the two prominent organisations mentioned above, there were other mushroom associations, which sprung up due to the prevailing situation at that material time.  These include the Professional Association of Trained Midwives of Nigeria (PAMON), the Nigeria Association of Nurse Tutors (NANT) the Professional Health visitors of Nigeria, the Nigeria Industrial Nurses Association, the Guild of Registered Nurses of Nigeria and the Community Nurses Association of Nigeria.

The disunity amongst nurses became more pronounced in the Udoji Award of 1976 because they sang discordant tones on issues of their common interest. However, the huge loss in the Udoji Award became the unifying factor for the nurses emerged wiser and mindful of the fact that united they stand, divided they fall.

Therefore, on the 8th of December 1977 at the famous City Hall in Lagos, the National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNM) was formed as a single umbrella body of all nurses and midwives in the country.  It was formed for the members of the nursing and midwifery profession to speak with one voice and to work for a common cause, and the people who were central to the formation of the Association were Mr.  E. O. Adelowo (now late), HRM Oba (Apostle) Moses A. Olabode, PA. S. O. Ikotun (now late), Mrs. Adetoun Bailey, Chief (Mrs.) A. A. Taiwo, Mrs. Remi Ayida, Mrs. Julie Anigbo, Mrs. Josephine Anyamene, Mr. Kola Oyedepo, M. I. D. Musa and Mrs. Hanatu Omale as well as nationwide Chief Nursing Officers and Principals of School of Nursing and Midwifery across the country.

Interestingly, in 1978, two female nurses  Comrade E. Hannatu Omole and Mrs. Julie Omigbo emerged as the pioneer president and deputy president of the Association respectively.  Also elected at that time were Mrs. Jaiyesimi as treasure, Mr. Richmond Amande as Financial Secretary and Mr. Kola Oyedepo as National coordinator.

Comrade Hannatu Omole was succeeded by Comrade Josephine A. U. Anyamene in 1982.  She held forth in the capacity for one term, spanning for four years.  In 1986, Comrade Job G. Micah was called to action as the new president of NANNM.
Comrade Job G. Micah was succeeded by Alhaji Abdulsalami A. Shiru in 1991. He served as president of the Association for only one year, and was succeeded by Comrade Lawrence O. Awowoyin in 1992.  Comrade Awowoyin continued where his predecessor stopped.  He served for eight years.

In 2000, Comrade Pat Emembolu Eze emerged as the new president, and was succeeded by Comrade Linus Abdulkadir Sabulu in 2004.  He died in October 2005 in the ill-fated Bellview plane crash.

Comrade F. O. Omorogbe, the National Deputy President of the Association, spent about seven months in office before the by-election that ushered in the Administration of Comrade Lawal Hussaini Dutsinma in 2006.